Many beach volleyball players wowed fans during the 2013 FIVB beach volleyball season, but USA’s Casey Patterson and Germany’s Laura Ludwig were the standouts for fans online.
In a public vote on the FIVB’s Facebook page, Patterson and Ludwig were chosen as the FIVB Male and Female Beach Volleyball Athlete of the Year – Fan Vote. More than 500 fans participated in the vote.
The fan vote corresponds with the official 2013 Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Beach Volleyball season awards, chosen by players that participate on the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour.
Fan favorite Ludwig was also voted as the Most Inspirational Player and the Best Defensive Player by her peers.
Patterson, who did not receive an additional award, awed fans throughout the season with his energy on the court, which often included dance moves to accompany his signature hair style.


2013 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour/FIVB Open Award Winners – voted by players 
Most Outstanding – Kerri Walsh, United States

Best Blocker – Talita Antunes, Brazil

Best Defensive Player – Laura Ludwig, Germany

Best Hitter – Talita Antunes, Brazil

Best Offensive Player – Talita Antunes, Brazil

Best Setter – Ilka Semmler, Germany

Most Improved Player – Kira Walkenhorst, Germany

Most Inspirational – Laura Ludwig, Germany

Sportsperson – Taiana Lima, Brazil

Top Rookie – Kira Walkenhorst, Germany

Team of the Year – Talita Antunes & Taiana Lima, Brazil


2013 Men’s FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour/FIVB Open Award Winners  – voted by players 

Most Outstanding – Phil Dalhausser, United States

Best Blocker – Pedro Salgado, Brazil

Best Defensive Player – Bruno Oscar Schmidt, Brazil

Best Hitter – Janis Smedins, Latvia

Best Offensive Player – Janis Smedins, Latvia

Best Setter – Janis Smedins, Latvia

Most Improved Player – Alvaro Filho, Brazil

Most Inspirational – Jake Gibb, United States