The NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship. Thirty-two conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

Interactive Bracket 

Printable Bracket

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 Stanford,  No. 2 Texas, No. 3 Washington and  No. 4 Wisconsin.

Per the established bracketing principles the top 16 seeds were provided the opportunity to host. In addition, first- and second-round conference matchups were avoided and team pairings were determined by geographical proximity.

The Pacific-12 Conference led all conferences with 10 teams.  The Big Ten Conference  and was next with six teams in the tournament, while the Big 12 and Southeastern Conferences each had five. Two teams, Penn State and Stanford have earned bids to all 33 championships. Five teams are making their first appearances in the tournament: Cal State Bakersfield, Denver, Northwestern State, Oakland and Seton Hall.

In the 33-year history of the championship, 10 schools have been crowned champion, nine of which are in this year’s bracket, including defending champion, Penn State.

Past winners making the field are; UCLA (1984, 1990, 91, 2011), Hawaii (1982, 83, 87),  Long Beach State (1989, 1993, 98), Nebraska (1995, 2000, 06), Southern California (1981, 2002, 03), Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), Penn State (1999, 2007, 08, 09, 10, 13), Texas (1988, 2012) and Washington (2005).

First and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites.  Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 12 and 13. The pre-determined regional sites are Ames, Iowa, Louisville, Kentucky, Minneapolis, Minnesota and Seattle. All regional semifinal games will be shown on ESPN3. Regional final games will air on ESPNU.

The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by the Big 12 Conference and the Oklahoma City All Sports Association at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City on December 18 and 20. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be broadcast by ESPN2. All regional and championship site game times can be found on the attached championship bracket or online at


Link to full article.